The S Word

Snow is the new bad word. I may sound like a broken record here on Gone Banannas but it is because it feels like we are living out a real life Groundhog Day. Every Friday, we head home with the knowledge that Monday is probably going to be a total scrap of a day due to the storm that hits us over the weekend. It’s happened for the past three weekends in a row. We are just drowning in snow.

Besides the record snowfalls, Boston is rapidly becoming famous for the WORST public transportation system in the history of the world (that may sound like an exaggeration, but it certainly doesn’t feel like it!). Here’s the thing, the T has been underfunded for decades. The trains are falling apart and not able to run in cold weather – which is hilarious since we live in New England where it’s cold 9 out of the 12 months of the year. Because of these setbacks, the trains are running less and less which is making the commutes longer and longer and more and more crowded. I’ve had to start taking the train backwards just to go forwards. You read that correctly. The only way I am able to fit on a train is to get on it going in the opposite direction until it turns around and goes back towards Boston. FUN TIMES. I left work a little early on Friday to try and combat the crazy crowds since it had taken me just about 2 hours to get home the night before. At 3:30pm, this is what the train cars already looked like.

IMG_3490

I CAN’T.

Since it was obviously difficult to get out or into the city, Bobby and I decided to postpone our Valentine’s Day dinner plans until this coming Friday but we didn’t put all our celebrating on hold – hence these gorgeous roses :)

IMG_3544

 

Also, I found that dressing in the holiday spirit made 2 hours of cross-training on Saturday just flllyyy by #nonotreally.

IMG_3528

I sent off my registration fee to the B.A.A. the other day and got this email over the weekend. IT’S SO OFFISH!

I am finally going to get back to running this week so I will let you know how that goes – fingers crossed!

How was your weekend? Did you do anything fun for Valentine’s Day?!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The S Word

Please feel free to leave me a comment--I love reading them!